In Depth with Interview Author Kathryn Daugherty

Posted on Updated on

kathryn_daughertyFront

“Good day to everyone. Today I am pleased to have sitting with me by the fireplace, Dr. Isabelle Kelly, one of the main characters in ‘She Promised Her Heart’ by author Kathryn Daugherty, who will be here shortly as she has had some transportation trouble getting here.”

“Welcome Dr. Kelly, it’s a pleasure to be able to talk with you today. I am glad that you were able to take time out of your busy schedule to be here with me.”

“Thank you, Mrs. Raymond for inviting me to talk with you today. I need to tell you how excited I was to receive your call about doing this interview. Even more excited when I knew Kathryn may be here too. Been awhile since I’ve seen her. I hope I have enough to say to interest your readers.”

 

“I understand that you are a plastic surgeon that not only has a very exclusive clientele you travel throughout the United States doing procedures for those who are suffering from birth deformities and accidents that do not have the monetary resources to have it corrected.”

“Yes, I do visit two hospitals throughout the United States each year. I love coming home to Omaha, but I haven’t been here for four years. I was in Texas earlier this year and now this spring I’m back home in the Midwest.”

“That is a very commendable thing to do for people you do not know nor are able to compensate you for your time. I want to thank you, Izzie, for your compassion to your fellow human begins. Not everyone in your status of life remembers to have mercy for others.”

“Thank you fo your kind words. But it’s like I told my dear friend Jillian, “You know you can only do so many lip, butt, and breast augmentations. Sucking the fat out of someone’s butt and putting it into his or her lips is not fulfilling. Using Botox to freeze someone’s wrinkles is not what I originally thought I would do with my medical degree. When I graduated from college, I was drowning in student loan debt. I took the best paying job I could find. Doing the plastic surgery for the rich and famous got the loans paid off quickly, and I just kept doing it. Eventually, I would take the time to make trips like this one. It would ease my guilt. Now I receive so much satisfaction from doing these surgeries. I may give up my practice and do pro bono surgeries only.”

“You not only have a compassionate heart, you in your own right are a trail blazer for women. You became not only a doctor but a plastic surgeon in an era that was not very welcoming to women in this particular medial field. They were considered mostly only qualified to be a nurse. How hard was it to break through that glass ceiling and prove you had what it took to be not only a doctor but a surgeon also?”

“The early ’70’s’ was a different time. The feminist movement was in its infancy and much different than what they are pushing today. In reality, it was probably easier to be accepted then, more than at any other time. We were at the forefront of things, and each was given the benefit of the doubt. Besides, I was at the top of my class, so when I applied to medical school, they couldn’t deny me with my grades. I was accepted. You know though I’d really hate to think that I got ahead on anything but my merit. I worked hard, and I made my way.”

“You were in college at the time of the Vietnam Conflict along with the flower children, free love, and pot smoking hippies. How involved were you in those protesting the war?

“I’m impressed! You know a great deal of my history. I’m not sure how familiar you are with the atmosphere of the late ’60’s’ as far as college students, you were one of two opinions. You either supported the war, or you didn’t there was very little gray in this issue. My opinion before meeting an actual soldier, a particular Air Force Captain, was hatred for the war and everything about it. I was protesting at every turn. Once I realized the people fighting the war were not to be blamed. I turned my attention to the government that had sent them. I detested our government for putting our young men and women in a fight we couldn’t or wouldn’t win. My respect for the people on the ground doing the fighting had my new found respect. He had that much influence on my opinion. Like anything where you place a label on everyone or everything it is usually wrong. Not all college students were flower children, pot smokers, or believed in free love. Myself and my roommate Sara were straight laced when it came to those activities, yet we attended many protests.”

“It says here you were never married? That is very unusual. A pretty lady with a promising career, I would have thought someone would have snatched you up a long time ago or are you a card carrying woman’s lib person?

“No, I’m not or ever have been a card carrying woman’s libber. I believe everyone should rise or fall on their skills and talents not on their gender, race, or religion. That usually doesn’t work out well either if you use that as the only criteria. As far as not marrying, it’s not that I didn’t have dates or men in my life or that I was never asked. I did, but the men I dated though all good men, they never measured up to my true love. I often told people that the men I dated ,though nice guys, they couldn’t pack water to my Captain.”

“So you met a captain in the US Air Force during one of the protest. I would say that was a very unusual place for someone in his position to be at. Was he just looking for trouble? You know most of the protesters considered him nothing more than a baby killer.”

“We didn’t meet at a protest; we met the day before the big protest on campus. I had been assigned to put posters on every tree on campus. My soldier was on campus that afternoon. The daisy I had in my hair had come loose and had fallen on the ground. He picked it up and tapped me on the shoulder. Gazing into his eyes, his extraordinary eyes- flecked with brown and ringed in gold- took my breath away. But it was that evening dancing in his arm to our song “Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye” that made me realize this man was someone that I could love.”

“You fell in love in only thirty days? Then you kept your promise to be faithful to only him all these years even though the military pronounced him dead after being MIA (Missing in action). WOW! Why would you limit yourself in that way? Most people that are in your profession would have had several marriages and affairs trying to find the perfect match to complete them.”

“I’ve been asked that same question many times. We did fall in love in just 30 days. Sometimes the heart just knows – I’ve always believed in the philosophy that your heart knows best. If you overthink, you only get yourself in trouble. When the military pronounced my Captain dead, my heart never felt that he was truly gone. But that was forty years ago so they must have been correct. I’ve never thought I needed someone to complete me, my Captain, was more that than. He was a man that complimented me. I’d been fortunate to know true love, and it was a Never Let Go Love between us.”

“Okay, recently you had a conflict at the ticket counter at the LA airport about a missed connection when a young lady behind you came to your rescue. As I understand it you and this, Jillian, who is a wedding consultant, became close friends on the flight to Omaha. What was the connection that made this possible? I mean your careers could not be more opposite.”

“I’m not sure why Jillian and I met, but there was a connection. I’m old enough to be her mom. We commiserated over our love lives- the promise I made and had kept all these years, and her fiance who had just broken, yet again, a promise he made to her. We just clicked.”

“I understand that you will be a guest at Jillian’s sister, Lana’s wedding. I heard that it is going to be quite a bash as Jillian is one of the greatest wedding consultants in the US.”

“Jillian has coordinated weddings for many of the rich and famous. I understand in visiting with her that she has put together a dream wedding for her sister Lana. I understand most of the residents of Weeping Water will be at the reception. The Rumbles are playing for the wedding dance. I’m excited to see them again; they were the band playing at the dance that spring of 1969. I’m surprised they are still together, but I understand this is their last year of playing.”

“Well it’s been a pleasure visiting with you today Izzie. I know that you are very pressed for time as you need to catch your flight so you can be there for Jillian at Lana’s wedding.”

 

“I’ve loved talking to you today. Mrs. Raymond. I think I hear Kathryn, but I do need to be on my way, in fact maybe I can catch the taxi she came in. Thank you for talking to me and reminding me of some wonderful memories.”

(I turn to the audience) “For all you readers out there, you can learn what happens to Izzie and Jillian in the novel ‘She Promised Her Heart’ by author Kathryn Daugherty. You can find Kathryn’s novels at the following: click here

 

(Doctor Kelly leaves to catch her flight as author Kathryn Daugherty arrives. They give each other a brief hug in exchanging greetings so that Doctor Kelly can use the same taxi that Kathryn came in.)

Kathryn

“Hello Kathryn, I am so glad that you were able to make it out in this weather even though you had to take a cab to do it. I am sorry you did not have more time to visit with Izzie but we both know what a tight schedule she maintains. Please have a seat and warm up a bit in front of the fireplace while I get you something warm to drink. Would you like coffee, tea, or cocoa?”

“I’m so sorry I was delayed. I was hoping to see Izzie and hear what the two of you had to talk about. I spent almost two years with Izzie writing her story. I have often wondered if I captured her story correctly, if she was pleased or not. I guess I will have to read the interview on your blog. If you have coffee made, I’d love to have a cup; I take it black.”

(I leave to get Kathryn’s drink as she sits down in the rocking chair, warming her hands in front of the roaring flames. I come back with two mammoth steaming mugs and hand her one as I sit across from her.)

“Here you go Kathryn. It’s just the way you like it.” I take a sip before starting the interview. “I have been doing a little research on your writing career. I see that you started by taking an on-line writing course for romance writing in 2005. Could you tell us what it felt like taking the class knowing that it could be a new avenue for your life?”

“It was exciting, to think that maybe, after all, these years of saying I wanted to write I may have the opportunity to actually give it a try. I also knew that if I was going to write, I wanted to write stories about love. The first class I took was a How to Write Romance; it was an online course. After that first class, I knew I was a long way from being able to know what I was doing as a writer. So since 2004 I’ve taken classes, gone to writer’s conferences, own dozens of books on how to write. Joined critique and writer’s groups and found many friends in the writing world all willing to help a person declare themselves a writer.”

“After taking the class and attending conferences and workshops, you had short story published in ‘Secret Attic’ a publication from United Kingdom in May of 2007. Congratulations on being published so soon after starting your writing career. Many authors wait for years on end before achieving what you did. Your story was titled ‘White Lies’ could you tell us a little about it?”

“Well yes, I realize that three years to have my stories published is a short time in the writing world. Though as a person who tries to follow my mother’s teaching about patience being a virtue. Three years did seem like a long time. I’m fortune enough to have had work published, the story “White Lies” is about Lillian a middle-aged woman meeting Kara, a teenage girl who had become something of a rebel.Typical mother, daughter episodes of the difference of opinions. Lillian sees something of herself in the story and sets out see if she can persuade Kara to see the light. I tell people this story has shades of a situation in my older sister Linda’s life. She gave me permission to use the incident in my story. I must say I used poetic license to embellish the original story. My sister also was my first editor helping me to polish my earlier works. We lost her in 2008 to lung cancer. I miss her every day not just as my editor but as the best big sister a person could have had.”

 

You then went on and had a second short story published in the ‘Writer’s Journal’ Magazine in November of 2007 titled ‘Secret Alliance’. Please give us a snippet about that story as well.”

“The story “Secret Alliance” was published in the now defunct Writers Journal’ magazine. The story is about a regular Mom with an unique part time job. The original story was sent into the Write to Win monthly contest. It won an honorable mention. With the help of my sister Linda again, we re-edited and did a bit of a re-write. I reentered it in their annual Short Story competition. In October of 2007, when I pulled the magazine out of the mailbox and checked for the winning entry. There it was in black and white; I was a writer and I just got paid to be one.”

“You also received honors for your writing at the ‘All Iowa Writer’s Conference in 2012, 2013, and 2014 for your short stories. Once again congratulations, well done. You then branched out with your first full length novel ‘A Case of the Hearts’ publishing it in 2013. Please enlighten us on what we will find between the covers of ‘A Case of the Hearts’.”

“Short stories have been good for me. With the first two being published and then I went on to write short stories for the contests held by the All Iowa Writer’s Conference held in Montezuma each year. Three of my stories have received honors in their competition. My story ‘A Case of Hearts’ began as a short story. The question that began the story was “What would you do if you received a knock at the door early in the morning. The people at the door are police officers.” The character ‘at stake’ in this story is Jeff Matthews, he is a four-year old orphan. His single aunt, Carol Matthew, is made his guardian. When she has to fight to keep him, she hires a down on his luck attorney, Donovan Delaney, who also happens to be single, and good looking. This story is more than a romance it also is about family, friendship, and LOVE.   This story was four years in the making. This novel was a finalist in the Midwest Independent Publishing Association. It also won the readers choice cover award in the Houston Bay Judge A Book By Its Cover contest.”

kathryn_daughertyFront.jpg

“Your second novel ‘She Promised Her Heart’ was where we are introduced to Doctor Isabelle Kelly and Jillian. This is the first in a three novel series. We just had a wonderful conversation with Izzie. We were wondering how you and Izzie came to know each other and what did it take to get Izzie’s fantastic story down on paper?”

“’She Promised Her Heart’ is a story that took two years to write. The story was inspired by a Reba McEntire song “Somebody’s Chelsea.” But Izzie is the best of all things ‘60’s’ in my imagination. Izzie is a combination of many people in my life. She’s my sister, Linda, and with her way of protesting she is even a bit of my husband, Cliff. You see Linda was a product of the ‘60’s’ a free spirit, a woman of warmth, kindness, and fun. When I say Izzie is something like my husband, Cliff, here is why. I was supporting the soldiers. My brother, Dean, happened to be in the service. My future husband, Cliff, was on the Ames campus protesting the war. His protesting was based on letters he was receiving from his brother who was stationed in Quang Fri Province. So hopefully, you see that Izzie is a lot like people I love dearly. Having characters, you admire makes it easy to write about them.

“I know ‘She Promised Her Heart’ is a work of fiction but I also know you researched quite extensively about that era to be able to write it. What is the one thing you want the readers of ‘She Promised Her Heart’ to be able to take and apply it to their lives?”

“What would I like people to remember about this story? I want people to remember the importance of keeping promises. We live in a world where we often see people we admire make promises that they have no intention of keeping. Izzie kept her promise for 40 years; she promised her heart and never broke that promise. Jillian on the other hand, was engaged to a person who didn’t keep promises and she accepted that. One of the main themes of the story is when it comes to LOVE, may we all have that Never Let Go type of LOVE.”

“Who are your best supporters in your writing career?”

“My best single supporter is my husband, Cliff. He encourages me in this pursuit of my self-publishing, he made sure I have a place to work, building my office gazebo from a shell of a building. Telling me to go back to work, writing, after I lost my sister, Linda. My kids are supportive in many ways, my two grandchildren Kayla and Keegan are the models that grace my covers. My son-in-law Chris took photos. Beta readers Erica, my daughter, and TJ and Brittany, my son and daughter-in-law, have been able to give me many ideas to improve my writing. My sisters and brother have read my work and given it a thumbs up. My daughter-in-law Nanette has also given the writing high praise. I thank them all for their praise and support. I would be amiss if I did not mention my fellow Davenport Writes members. Lee Collins and the Pella Writes group. Not only are they my peers they are my friends who make this whole writing thing worth while.”

“Where can you fans find out more about your upcoming novels and events in your life?”

I post most of my events on my Facebook author page https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKathrynDaugherty/ also at my website http://www.kathryndaugherty.com My website also has a few short stories your audience may enjoy.

“I want to thank both lovely ladies for coming and being interviewed by me today. Please keep an eye out for Kathryn’s upcoming novels in the ‘Heart’ series. Kathryn also does speaking engagements so please reach out to her at the following address to speak to your group. Thank you.

“I enjoy meeting readers at events at libraries and the different vendor fairs. If you are interested in having an event with cookies and conversation, please contact be at my e-mail kathryndaugherty60@gmail.com . Mrs. Raymond, I so appreciate you taking your time today to interview Izzie and me. It was fun to meet you, and I appreciate your interest in my novels.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

